CyberPower CP1500AVRLCD3 Review: Worth It? (October 2026)
The CyberPower CP1500AVRLCD3 review verdict is favorable for a workstation or network setup that needs 900W capacity, an LCD and 6 battery-backed outlets. Confirm simulated sine wave output suits your equipment.
On this page (8 sections)
- CyberPower CP1500AVRLCD3 review: what stands out?
- Who should choose this CyberPower UPS?
- How do you size the UPS for your equipment?
- How do the LCD and AVR help in daily use?
- Which devices belong on battery-backed outlets?
- How does the CyberPower compare with other 1500VA UPS models?
- How should you set up and care for the CP1500AVRLCD3?
- Is the CyberPower CP1500AVRLCD3 worth choosing?
The CyberPower CP1500AVRLCD3 review verdict is that it suits workstations and home networks needing a 900W UPS, a clear status display and AVR. The full keyword, “cyberpower cp1500avrlcd3 review,” leads to a practical fit check: its output is simulated sine wave, so confirm your equipment accepts that type before you buy.
The CP1500AVRLCD3 has 12 outlets, split evenly between battery backup with surge protection and surge-only protection. It also has USB-A and USB-C charging ports, a three-year warranty that includes the battery, and free PowerPanel Personal software.
CyberPower CP1500AVRLCD3 review: what stands out?
The CP1500AVRLCD3 stands out for its color LCD, AVR and 12-outlet layout. Six outlets have battery backup, and the two USB ports can charge phones or tablets.
CyberPower CP1500AVRLCD3 1500VA UPS: Best for workstation monitoring
- 1500VA/900W
- 12 outlets
- Color LCD
- AVR
A line-interactive UPS with a color LCD, AVR and 12 outlets. Six battery-backed outlets suit essential equipment, while the other six provide surge protection.
Pros
- Color LCD displays battery and power conditions
- AVR corrects minor power fluctuations without switching to battery
- Includes USB-A and USB-C charge ports
- Three-year warranty includes the battery
Cons
- Only 6 of 12 outlets provide battery backup
- Simulated sine wave output may not suit every device
CyberPower describes it as a mini tower for workstations, networking devices and home entertainment equipment. It uses simulated sine wave output, so check device requirements before connecting a computer or other sensitive equipment.
What does the CyberPower CP1500AVRLCD3 review score reflect?
The 8.5 score reflects the combination of 900W capacity, a color display, AVR and 12 outlets, with a deduction for simulated sine wave output and the fact that only 6 outlets supply battery power. That balance makes it a strong candidate when those features match your setup, but not an automatic fit for every computer.
A larger outlet count doesn't give every connected device backup time. Reserve the battery outlets for equipment you need to save, shut down safely or keep online, then use surge-only outlets for less critical peripherals.
Who should choose this CyberPower UPS?
Choose the CP1500AVRLCD3 if you want a 900W capacity, a detailed display and voltage regulation for a home workstation or network setup. Its LCD reports battery and power conditions, while AVR corrects minor power fluctuations without switching to battery.
It can suit a desktop, one monitor, a router and a modem when their combined watt draw stays below 900W and the devices accept simulated sine wave output. Its display can help you keep an eye on power conditions, and the USB ports add a convenient place to charge mobile devices.
Skip it if your equipment specifically requires pure sine wave output, or if your essential devices need more than 6 battery-backed outlets. A long list of peripherals doesn't automatically call for battery backup on all of them, but you should map out the outlet split before you choose.
If you need a different CyberPower model, see our CyberPower CP1000PFCLCD review. For another 1500VA comparison, the APC Back-UPS Pro BR1500MS2 review covers a competing model.
How do you size the UPS for your equipment?
The CyberPower is rated for 1500VA and 900W, so keep the combined watt draw of devices on the UPS below 900W. VA measures apparent power, while watts describe the power used by the connected load.
Add the wattage of the desktop, monitor, network gear and other equipment you plan to connect. Leave some room below the maximum because a new device can increase the load and shorten the backup time available during an outage.
Start with the devices you need to save or shut down cleanly, then decide whether other equipment belongs on surge-only outlets. Our UPS sizing guide explains how to estimate capacity, and the 1500VA runtime guide helps set realistic expectations for outage time.
Don't choose by VA alone. A computer's power draw, the monitor and other connected devices all affect how long the battery can support the load.
How do the LCD and AVR help in daily use?
The LCD shows battery and power conditions, while AVR corrects minor voltage changes without switching to battery. These features help you monitor the UPS and save battery capacity for an outage.
AVR doesn't provide blackout power. It adjusts some voltage fluctuations while utility power is present; if power fails, backup is available only through the six battery-backed outlets.
CyberPower says the color display alerts users to potential issues before they affect connected equipment. Use it as a monitoring aid, and consult the manual for what the displayed alerts mean and how to respond.
Which devices belong on battery-backed outlets?
Put devices you need to save or shut down safely on the 6 battery-backed outlets. Use the 6 surge-only outlets for equipment that can turn off when power is lost.
For a computer setup, you might prioritize the desktop, one monitor and network gear, based on wattage and what you need to remain online. A printer or speaker may fit better on a surge-only outlet if it doesn't need to run during an outage.
Before plugging everything in, identify which devices need uninterrupted power and total their wattage. Our guide to what should be plugged into a UPS covers common choices, while UPS backup for a home network helps you prioritize a modem and router.
How does the CyberPower compare with other 1500VA UPS models?
The CyberPower gives you 12 total outlets and 6 battery-backed outlets. The APC and Amazon Basics models each offer 10 total outlets and 5 battery-backed outlets, while the Tripp Lite is rated for 810W instead of 900W.
| Model | Capacity | Battery-backed outlets | Standout detail |
|---|---|---|---|
| APC Back-UPS Pro BX1500M | 1500VA/900W | 5 of 10 | Coaxial and Ethernet surge protection |
| CyberPower CP1500AVRLCD3 | 1500VA/900W | 6 of 12 | Color LCD and USB-A/USB-C charging |
| Tripp Lite OMNI1500LCDT | 1500VA/810W | Outlet split not specified | User-replaceable battery |
| Amazon Basics 1500VA Line-Interactive UPS | 1500VA/900W | 5 of 10 | Runtime examples at half and full load |
The APC BX1500M may fit better if data-line protection matters. It includes coaxial and Ethernet surge protection, and its LCD shows charge, estimated runtime, load capacity and input voltage.
APC Back-UPS Pro BX1500M 1500VA: Best for network protection
- 1500VA/900W
- 10 outlets
- AVR
- Coaxial and Ethernet protection
A 1500VA/900W UPS with an LCD, AVR and built-in coaxial and Ethernet surge protection. Five of its 10 outlets provide battery backup.
Pros
- AVR corrects low and high voltage
- Coaxial and Ethernet surge protection
- Replaceable battery, sold separately
- LCD shows charge, runtime, load and input voltage
Cons
- Only 5 outlets provide battery backup
- Replacement battery is sold separately
The Tripp Lite OMNI1500LCDT suits buyers who value a user-replaceable battery. It has an 810W maximum, AVR and an LCD showing runtime, wattage load, input voltage and battery status.
Tripp Lite OMNI1500LCDT 1500VA UPS: Best for battery replacement
- 1500VA/810W
- 10 outlets
- AVR
- User-replaceable battery
This 1500VA unit provides 810W of capacity, an LCD and AVR. Its user-replaceable battery and Ethernet and telephone line protection are useful details.
Pros
- User-replaceable battery
- LCD shows runtime, wattage load and battery status
- AVR corrects voltage changes without using battery power
Cons
- 810W maximum is lower than the 900W CyberPower
- Outlet split between battery and surge-only is not specified
The Amazon Basics 1500VA is useful for comparing stated runtime examples. It provides 900W, AVR and simulated sine wave output, with about 10 minutes at half load and 1.5 minutes at full load.
Amazon Basics 1500VA Line-Interactive UPS: Best for runtime planning
- 1500VA/900W
- 10 outlets
- AVR
- Simulated sine wave
A 1500VA/900W line-interactive option with AVR and simulated sine wave output. Runtime examples show how load affects backup time.
Pros
- Runtime examples at half and full load
- 900W capacity
- AVR and simulated sine wave technology
Cons
- Only 5 outlets provide battery backup
- Full-load runtime is about 1.5 minutes
All four models use lead-acid batteries. Compare the best 1500VA UPS options if you want to weigh more models and layouts.
How should you set up and care for the CP1500AVRLCD3?
Set up the CP1500AVRLCD3 by choosing a stable spot, charging it as directed and connecting the essential devices first. Keep the unit accessible so you can read its display, reach the controls and unplug equipment when needed.
After connecting your core devices, check the LCD and add peripherals only if the load remains within 900W. Keep devices that need outage support on battery-backed outlets, and label or note which connections are surge-only so you can act quickly during a blackout.
Lead-acid batteries need eventual replacement. The CP1500AVRLCD3 has a three-year warranty that includes its battery, but that doesn't mean the battery will last forever; follow the manual's care and replacement guidance.
A common setup mistake is to connect every device to battery backup just because there are 12 outlets. Another is to assume AVR protects against a blackout, when it corrects voltage changes and the battery supplies power only during an interruption.
Is the CyberPower CP1500AVRLCD3 worth choosing?
Pick the CP1500AVRLCD3 if your setup needs 900W, a color LCD, AVR and no more than 6 battery-backed connections. Its 12 outlets give you room for surge-only peripherals, and USB-A and USB-C ports can charge mobile devices.
Choose the APC BX1500M if coaxial and Ethernet protection or a replaceable battery is more useful to you. Consider the Tripp Lite if user battery replacement is a priority, or compare the Amazon Basics runtime examples to understand how load affects backup time.
The final cyberpower cp1500avrlcd3 review decision comes down to outlet needs, total wattage and output compatibility. Check your devices' power requirements, decide which ones need battery backup, and use the UPS battery backup selection guide to match the unit to your setup.
Frequently asked questions
Is the CyberPower CP1500AVRLCD3 a pure sine wave UPS?
No. The CP1500AVRLCD3 uses simulated sine wave output.
Check your computer or equipment requirements before choosing it, especially if the manufacturer calls for pure sine wave power.
Its 1500VA/900W capacity describes how much load it can support, not whether its output matches every device.
How many outlets on the CyberPower CP1500AVRLCD3 use battery backup?
Six of its 12 outlets provide battery backup and surge protection; the other six provide surge protection only. Put equipment that needs outage runtime on the battery-backed outlets, and use surge-only outlets for peripherals that can turn off when utility power fails.
Does the CyberPower CP1500AVRLCD3 have AVR?
Yes. Automatic Voltage Regulation corrects minor power fluctuations without switching to battery power, which helps reserve battery capacity for outages.
AVR doesn't supply power during a blackout.
Learn what AVR means on a UPS before comparing models.
How long will a 1500VA UPS run a computer?
Runtime depends on the computer's actual power draw and the UPS load. A 1500VA rating doesn't mean every computer gets the same backup time.
Use the UPS display or the maker's runtime guidance for an estimate, and see our 1500VA UPS runtime guide for planning advice.
About this guide: Our look at CyberPower CP1500AVRLCD3 UPS review draws on maker specs, materials and what owners report. See how we research.



